Facebook Warns Users of Free iPhone Scam

imagesAccording to security firm Sophos, Facebook is being plagued by a scam circulating around, telling users that if they click and “allow” a link access to their Facebook page, they will receive a free iPhone. The second the users clicks “allow” application, their status is updated to: “Just testing Facebook for iPhone out :P Received my free iPhone today, so happy lol… If anyone else wants one go here” with a link to a Facebook app.

When a user clicks the link, itwill bring them to a dummy website that makes money every time someone visits the site. The spammers behind the ploy have now infected your page and and have access to your personal profile allowing the spammers to update your status at will.

“If you’ve fallen for this trick, I wouldn’t hold your breath waiting for a new iPhone,” said Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos.

“Facebook users need to learn to think before they ‘like’ and ‘share’ suspicious pages on Facebook. Just because something appears on a friend’s wall, it doesn’t mean that it is from a reliable source, and by giving unknown applications access to your Facebook page, you could unknowingly continue to help to spread scams and earn cash for the spammers.”

But fear not, Sophos claims it’s easy to remove the application, the user simply has to go to your applications settings and remove the applications’ access to your profile.

About the author  ⁄ BrickHouse Security

BrickHouse Security is the industry's premier supplier of security and surveillance solutions. As a recognized authority in GPS tracking, hidden cameras, cell phone/PC monitoring, video surveillance and counter surveillance, we help our customers use technology to get the clarity they need. We proudly serve consumers, businesses of all sizes and the law enforcement community. When you need to know, BrickHouse has the answers.

  • Tech Guy

    You have to change your email password also.

  • Tech Guy

    You have to change your email password also.